Spain Team for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil

Spain World Cup 2014 squad
The Spanish team will defend Brazil in its current condition world champion. With the same philosophy of play that charmed the world over the past five years, the Roja won their classification in single European qualification group integrated by two countries winners of the FIFA World Cup. The Spaniards finished in first place, ahead of France, after add up to six wins and two draws (both at home, against French and Finns) in the key leaner tournament (five selections). Although they have registered the least defense leaked of the old continent, with three goals against, the European double of their campaigns conducted a more discreet in offensive terms, having placed only 14 balls on the network.

Past Participations

Before lifting the coveted Cup in South Africa, Spain suffered from a recurring “curse” that wouldn’t leave her past the quarter-finals of the FIFA World Cup. Their best performance was fourth place in the 1950 World Cup final quadrangular, in Brazil. The Spanish team has appeared in 13 editions of the biggest tournament in world football. In Brazil will dispute its 14th campaign, the 10th in a row.

The highlights

The key to Spain’s success is based on talent focused on middle ground — just to mention names like Xavi, Andres Iniesta and Xabi Alonso. Despite this, the other sectors do not leave for less. The solidity under the joists is ensured both by Iker Casillas as by other alternatives offered by infallible barn of goalkeepers in the country. Sergio Ramos and Gerard Pique if signed as the strong man of the defense, which also features a Jordi Alba just keeps getting better. The goals scored by Ramos and Alba in recent matches were so instrumental as the offensive sector. When David Villa and Fernando Torres left the selection on hand, Peter shone as center forward, supported by Cesc Fàbregas. It is worth remembering the good services of Álvaro Negredo, always a candidate to appear in the attack.


Full Squad List:



  • Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid)
  • David Villa (Atletico Madrid)
  • Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City)
  • Jesus Navas (Manchester City)
  • Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona)
  • Fernando Llorente (Juventus/ITA)
  • Fernando Torres (Chelsea/ENG)


  • Juan Mata (Manchester United/ENG)
  • Tiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich/GER)
  • Koke (Atletico Madrid)
  • Santi Cazorla (Arsenal/ENG)
  • David Silva (Manchester City/ENG)
  • Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao)
  • Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid)
  • Sergio Busquets (Barcelona)
  • Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona)
  • Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
  • Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona)


  • Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid)
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
  • Gerard Pique (Barcelona)
  • Jordi Alba (Barcelona)
  • Cesar Azplicueta (Chelsea/ENG)
  • Juanfran (Atletico Madrid)
  • Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich/GER)
  • Raul Albiol (Napoli/ITA)
  • Alberto Moreno (Sevilla)


  • Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)
  • Pepe Reina (Napoli/ITA)
  • David de Gea (Manchester United/ENG)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>